Lupin

The field is a mass of lupins right now, and I set out to capture a picture of masses of them, but wound up choosing this single flower glistening with melting frost. I went on a docent guided hike at the Bouverie Preserve, a wildland area under the protection of the Audubon Canyon Ranch. A group of well trained volunteers act as docents for fifth and sixth graders who visit from all over the area. A few times a year it is open to the public. There was a lot of fire damage, including the library and small museum, but it has been reopened and the public is invited to see what survived, what didn't and how the whole area is recovering.

Lupins are members of the pea family which is easier to see in the extra, as is the fact that the flowers turn from white to purple as they descend the stem.The docent had a fascinating explanation of why this happens but I not only can't remember it, what little research I've done has not revealed the reason. I think it has something to do with water and/or seeds but that's pretty vague...

What I DO think of every time I see a field of lupins is Monty Python....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.