Why I am a Tomato Widow

Part I: plant seeds in sterilized soil in tiny containers placed on a heating pad under lights in the garage.
Part II: when there are two sets of 'false leaves'  coming out of the stem, 'up pot' plants into larger pots.
Part III: when the first true leaves appear, up pot again, burying bottom set of leaves. Carry plants outside for natural sunlight during the day and back inside at night (except when you forget when you go to Part IV)
Part IV: stomp around the house half clothed in the middle of the night, making enough noise to wake everyone before going out to 'rescue' plants and bring them inside
Part V: Plant in real dirt, specially amended, in raised beds. Which just happen to be out of my reach for a few more days...I discovered to my own peril that stitches in the back of my knee and stairs don't mix....
I swear I heard him murmuring to the little plants when I sneaked up behind him to take this picture.
Part VI: Surround each plant with quarter inch irrigation tubing.

I'm sure there's more I don't know about yet. These tomatoes had better be good....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.