A Blast from the Past

Dear Diary,


I had to go to Waterboro for some routine blood work and on my way home I stopped for breakfast at the Blast from the Past diner. (extra) It is such a treat and it always sends me reeling back in time although I must say it doesn’t take much for me to get a serious case of reverie. Diners like this were the stock and trade of the 1950’s and 60’s and no self-respecting diner would be complete without a jukebox!


The one I frequented growing up had individual jukeboxes in each booth where for just a dime you could listen to your favorite pop songs.  While I was eating, there was a nice selection from the Everly Brothers…a favorite duo of mine as a teenager.  Of course, Elvis Presley was my all time favorite, until the Beatles came along that is.   I still love the old songs of Roy Orbison and Patsy Cline and those songs recall the Saturday night dances held in the various church halls.


Hanging out at the diner was the thing to do after school and after the Friday night football games this was the only place to be.  There is such nostalgia surrounding old diners and the music from that era…good times, great memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.