A Touch of Spring

Dear Diary,

I was finally able to get to my forsythia bush to pick some branches to bring in to force.  This morning they are in full bloom and what an uplifting sight to see.

This old vase always stood on our mantle when I was growing up and in my Easter picture you can see pussy willows behind my head.  Unfortunately, you can’t see the vase but it was there.  It always was.  I keep it now on the fireplace shelf and fill it with seasonal things.  For spring it is always pussy willows and forsythia.

I have started my spring turnover.  Bringing down the screens, putting out the flag by the front door and changing the curtains in the television room.  Step by step I am putting winter behind me and welcoming spring with open arms.

Matt will be here tomorrow to start the yard clean up.  There is a lot of raking to do and re-arranging the dirt from the drive way that got plowed up this winter.  I will be most anxious to see how many of the perennials I planted last year have survived their first winter.

I heard from Andrew and he will be by in a couple of weeks to do the labyrinth preparations.  I hope I have enough field stone to outline the paths.  We will do the best we can with what we’ve got and it will take some time.  Neither Rome nor labyrinths are built in a day!

It seemed like only yesterday we were digging out from another 16” snowfall!  Now, summer preparations are under way.  No rest for the weary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.