A social whirl

Today was - socially - a little ambitious. The morning was straightforward enough; a little more work at Brizzi's (although, in the absence of a waiter and the indifference of the owner, I was only able to enjoy one coffee). 

After that, though, I walked down to Waterloo to meet my parents for lunch at the Union Jack Club, which is a venue for ex-servicemen (my dad qualifying due to his National Service). The decor is a little Premier Inn but the walls full of photos of servicemen are fascinating and the food is very good. 

After that I went back across Waterloo Bridge - pausing to take this photo - to meet my friend David for tea at Somerset House. It was a beautiful day, so we were able to sit outside, chatting for a couple of hours, which was so lovely. Having not seen him since we were at school together in Hong Kong in the seventies, this is perhaps only the sixth time I've seen him on the last eighteen months yet I feel completely relaxed and happy in his company. Such a loveable man.

But at six o'clock I had to say farewell to him to go and meet an ex-client for dinner at The Big Easy in Covent Garden, which I haven't been to before but which was a real treat in both culinary and companionship terms. And then, finally, back up to Drummond Street and the Crown and Anchor to meet up for a couple of drinks with Dean.  

Phew.

****
No scales

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.