But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Land Girl’s Memorial.

I took things a bit easy today after having a tiring day yesterday. I had intended to cycle up to this lovely memorial to complete an assignment but one of our fellow guests asked me to get a bunch of flowers for the lady of the house who's feeling a little under the weather at the moment. (The nearest florist is at Buckie, a hilly eight miles away, and I couldn't envisage a bouquet of flowers surviving such a journey by tricycle.) I’ve already supplied the lady that does the talk on the Women’s Land Army, aka the Land Girls, a few pictures to include in her presentation; but the one picture that both she and I lacked was the one that puts the sculpture into context. As I took the Blip, farmland stretched in front of me and to both the left and right for many miles, while, a couple of miles behind me lay the Moray Firth. The few breaks in the continuity, hinted at in the background, being taken up by areas where the Lumberjills, aka the Women’s Timber Corps, would feel at home. (I’ve just Googled them and discovered that, although they were part of the Women’s Land Army, as of 2007 they have their own memorial near Aberfoyle.)

It’s wonderful countryside around here and I’m very grateful that Herself has introduced me to it through her patchwork activities. It’s wonderful for both photography and cycling (though it can be a little arduous).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.