But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Rosslyn Chapel.

Having done the shopping, I went to pick up Mrs TD from work at the Chapel. I was told off for arriving too early so I flashed my pass and demanded entry to take some pictures of the outside of the building; it is now illegal to use a camera inside though I have, on occasion, received special dispensation. As it happened, I was accosted by one of the tour guides this afternoon who demanded that I photograph two pigeons (see extra) that were roosting inside the building, high above the main entrance with plans to crap on the unsuspecting visitors as passed underneath. There is no obvious way of enticing the birds out and, with a concert tomorrow, various officials are worrying about how pigeons react to loud music. I wondered about suggesting the possibility of them playing the 1812 overture and using loaded cannons pointing in the appropriate direction, but that might not have met with overwhelming approval.
 
Tomorrow is a double celebration with it being both my birthday (the answer to your next question is, “Very.”) and our wedding aniversary, so we started this afternoon with very large, expensive portions of fish supper. The food was very nice, but we won’t be eating another meal in the foreseeable future. It was curious that the waitress misheard Herself’s request for a beer shandy and brought a glass of chardonnay. Once we’d worked out how an overworked and underpaid waitress would dispose of an unwanted glass of wine, we fell to wondering if she makes a habit of mishearing orders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.