The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Take the weight off your feet

I took the bus to Woodchester today. When I alighted, I was amused to see these clapped-out chairs offering rest for those worn out by waiting

The purpose of my journey was to attend Ryan's funeral. Ryan was a student at our school for almost twenty years. The church was so packed that live streaming of the service was also being offered at the nearby school halls, as well as at our school in Stroud, for those who couldn't attend in person. I was heartened by some of the stories shared at the service, but it was a terrifically sad occasion. School staff been asked to wear football shirts, so we all wore red for Liverpool, Ryan's team. His coffin was Liverpool themed. (I didn't even know until today that football-team coffins was a thing).The newspaper report is here.
http://m.gloucestershirelive.co.uk/they-will-never-walk-alone-hundreds-pay-respects-at-funeral-of-remarkable-ryan-22/story-30285679-detail/story.html

I took the bus back to Stroud and went to the community cafe to play Scrabble with my friend Angela. Friday is Scrabble day at the cafe. It's also gardening club day. I ended up having lunch, being given a bunch of bananas, and forming a team to take part in the cafe quiz next month! Lost at Scrabble, though. The cafe is beginning to fee like home now, even though I am usually over on the other side of Stroud. All our new quiz team members come from the same street, the one where I live.


Back home, I packed up the greetings cards an stationery for a market stall in Nailsworth tomorrow. The market is being given a new direction, with more stalls and possibly some entertainment. I'm.looking forward to seeing the makeover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.