Shag - or as known in other lands, Cormorant

While the family packed bags this morning I got out of their way and popped down to the mouth of the estuary with Blip mate. It was a glorious morning and we were fascinated to watch shoals of small fish making the water boil while trying to escape an underwater predator. Plenty of birds there too, enjoying the receding tide.

After an hour I returned home to find the packing complete and  so enjoyed the last few hours with my daughter and son-in-law. They head to Wellington for a couple of days, then to my other daughter in Napier for 2 days before heading to Auckland and the long trip back to Germany.
I will miss them - it was great having them here and no doubt will be a long time before I see them again. Thank heavens for Skype.

This little shag was just sitting on a rock enjoying the sun. I caught him just as he flapped his wings in a stretch. I am fairly sure it is a spotted shag as they are the only ones with yellow feet. They are the most beautiful shag when in breeding plumage with a double crest on the head, green facial skin and a royal blue rump. The rest of the time they are just brown. There are a couple more shots in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.