Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Drums!

JR went to the gym, and I made a start on the long overdue bathroom windows. Because of all the condensation and them being ignored for too long, they need a good seeing to. This will involve sanding and repainting with anti-mould paint.

The shower door also needs attention - it no longer fits properly meaning we end up with a big puddle outside the shower. It looks easy enough to fix - it just needs a bit of adjustment. I wish I could do it myself, but my days of DIY are long gone.

We didn't say a word to Archie, but did give him a wee brush up, and he went and looked out of the window till - yes - Elizabeth appeared! Much hysteria and then they set off.

We set off into town, and met Hamish's dad on the bus. We have always meant to take Hamish up the hill with us (his dad works, so he's left at home some days), and he'll get a key cut for us.

We popped to John Lewis to investigate the new top floor cafe. It's not so easy to get there now, but the tram deposits you near enough the entrance. The cafe was splendid. Very busy, but efficient service. All the window seats were taken, but the views are pretty good.

From there I came home, leaving JR to explore her favourite shop to her heart's content. I passed this chap banging away on his drum, singing along to a tape of Bob Marley 'No Woman, No cry...’ I gave him my new £1 coin, which I've been keeping for luck (I haven't seen any more of them). So I have to use this shot today.

Stopped off to check out the Beltane Drummers at the Galleries, who accompanied this group of very slow moving people with sticks (extra).

[4,087 steps, 2.9km.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.