Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Busy day

Quite a productive day today - gardening, sanding, painting, sitting out in the sun.

Plus, we had visitors - doggie and human. I met Rufus and his mum while out with Archie this morning. Mum was going to the supermarket, so I brought Rufus home. He's famously unhappy when not with his mum, and has been known to whimper for hours till she comes back, but he didn't say a peep.

We were sitting in the sun having a coffee with the neighbour, when Rufus, who had seemed resigned to his fate without his mum, suddenly snuck through the closed gate and legged it down the road. JR shot out after him, and was away for quite a long time - apparently he can run faster than we'd imagined! Anyway, the watering can foiled any further attempts.

Archie had a busy day - Becky took him out in the morning, and Camila took him in the afternoon, which meant that we could get on with jobs without his 'help'.

While JR popped out to buy some plants, then planted them, I sanded and painted one window. This involves being up a ladder with a tin of paint, so I'm always rather nervous. But no accidents. (I once fell off a ladder with a full (open) tin of green paint). The other window will have to wait until the chap who's coming to sort the shower door comes this week.

Only 172 steps today. But I didn't always carry my phone - I must have done at least twice that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.