DERELICT SUNDAY

We had a great service at church this morning - it’s great to hear how God is working in people’s lives.

I had prepared a picnic for us, so after church we went out looking for dereliction again.  Today we went in a different direction - westwards towards Royal Wootton Bassett, then we turned off towards Tockenham.  I took several photographs of derelict buildings and tractors along this road and told Mr. HCB after we had eaten our lunch that we could go home - job done - but we carried on and I’m really glad we did.  

As we pootled along, we stopped several times to watch a buzzard and several other birds and then came across this wonderful place.  We could see someone working on a tractor, so we waved, but as we drove by we could see that there was so much dereliction here, so decided to stop.  I told Mr. HCB that I would go back and speak to the person in the farmyard, as a matter of courtesy, especially if I wanted to take photographs.  It transpired that he was the farmer, so I told him about Blip and without appearing to be rude, asked if I could take a photograph of this building for Derelict Sunday.  He admitted there was quite a lot of “stuff” around and said he was quite happy for me to do so and by then, Mr. HCB had joined us, so we chatted to the farmer and his son for about ten minutes - it was so kind of them to take time out of their day to talk to us and I told him I was really grateful.

I promised I wouldn’t disclose the exact location and asked if I could come over again in a few weeks’ time.  He said he was happy for me to do that, but asked that I knocked at the door of the farmhouse the next time I came, because they had cameras all around, and he confirmed, as it said on the notice above the garage, “Our dogs bite!”

I think the amount of dereliction here will keep me going for the next few weeks, so I will be able to say to Mr. HCB, “Go west, young man!”

Because of one man’s kindness, I am able to share this derelict barn with you all and have "tarted it up" a little using the Painteresque App on my phone in case anyone is wondering.

"No act of kindness,
     no matter how small,
          is ever wasted."
Aesop  620-565 B.C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.