Derelict Station

I have walked than 9 miles today in and around Cardiff Harbour and on to Penarth with its pier. As well as the distance there has been a lot of up! It has been good weather all day with sun and shade so all very pleasant.

Cardiff is like every other city with its good and not so good areas. There is a significant amount of dereliction and buildings just need some care and attention. I came across this building on my walk to and from the hotel. I thought it looked like an old station and then saw it was a former part of the current Cardiff Bay station. The building is quite large and I wonder if it is a former hotel - it's not the style or shape of traditional stations although the rear looks like it was a loading area for something. It sums up the area though and also fits the derelict theme for Sunday although I have no idea of the tag for that.

I was fascinated by the enormous locks along the Cardiff Barrage and watched boats going through these on their journeys from the sea to the freshwater area of the bay.

It has been an enjoyable and inspirational time with the Visual Arts group in Cardiff. Home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.