But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Findlater Castle.

Thanks are due to BobsBlips for hosting the WidWed Challenge, the theme is something beginning with A, or L of has 4 connected with it. Since I’m driving back home tomorrow, I thought that a heavy cycle ride today would leave me feeling a little uncomfortable – so I went for a walk instead. It turned out to be a four mile walk from Cullen to Sandend, and then another four miles back again; perhaps I should have gone for the cycle instead. 

Having arrived at Sandend, I quickly decided that it was not the best destination for a walk as there is nothing there for the tired, hungry or thirsty traveller: not a coffee shop, ice-cream shop, baker’s, or even a hostelry. For that matter, on returning to Cullen, I found that it was no better; although there are all of the above facilities, on a Wednesday afternoon, even the public conveniences are shut. However, as I discovered last Sunday, the walk is through some of the most delightful coastal scenery to be found anywhere.

Findlater Castle is a case in point with an easy walk down to the shingle beach beneath – provided that one takes the right path - as I discovered half-way down, when the right path met the one that I was using. However, no harm was done other than I had to explain to Herself why the seat of my trousers was covered in mud (I'd deliberately gone down on my backside rather than fall) when I returned to the B&B.

This Blip will also cover the Derelict Sunday challenge hosted by Marlieske, I wonder if two entries are allowed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.