Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

WT * ?

I pulled out of the pharmacy to the corner in order to make the U-turn to head back to my house and realized that something was different. I did a double-take! WT*?

The giant Mesquite tree on the corner, the one which shaded my late friend, June's, memorial stone and cactus garden in the median, was GONE! That tree was a Green Valley landmark. I am so sad.

It was cut down because it was diseased and branches were falling off into the street. Phooey!! It was my favorite tree in the whole wide world.

The Agave in the background looks as though it's dying, too. Whatever they decide to put on that corner to replace these, I hope that they will still honor my friend's death. Another Mesquite tree would suit me just fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.