An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

It's all Yellow...

For reasons I won't bore you with, David and I found ourselves in Crieff this morning just after 10.30 with the whole day ahead of us.  Given that we'd left the house with little more than a cuppa, we decided breakfast was in order and headed to Delivinos in Crieff for coffee, pancakes, bacon and maple syrup.  Oooo it was lovely.

We had driven the main road to Crieff and on the journey I could see in the distance field after field of golden yellow rape seed flowers.  Fortunately I had my camera with me so after leaving Delivinos we headed home via the back roads and to my utter joy, managed to find a road to a farm that had easy access to the edge of one of the fields. That never happens!  Usually the landscape I want to photograph is a hop skip and jump out of my reach and I have to make do with a shot from the car.

Sat for a moment figuring out what shots I wanted to get and which lenses I wanted to use.  Decision made I got out the car, framed my shot and pressed the shutter....nothing.  No card in camera.   I won't tell you what I said but I am sure you can guess.  David saved the day though.  As I turned trembling lipped to look at him he said, in a rather exasperated tone it has to be said, "Don't you carry a spare card?"  Eh, actually, yes I do!  Quick rummage in camera bag and the spare card was found.  Woo hoo.

Despite not being able to position myself exactly where I wanted to be (the ground was uneven, boggy in places and full of hidden divets.  Not good for arthritic knees and hips and elbow crutches) I had a whale of my time desperately shooting away trying to get all the shots I wanted before the camera became too heavy for my hands.  I really must start keeping my tripod in the car boot.

All snapped out, we got back in the car and headed home.  What a lovely drive.  I absolutely love living where we do.

Got home to find Paul the painter giving the utility room its final coat of paint (please let it be the final coat!) and Tony taking the last of the tiles off our front steps ready to build the permanent ramp, after which the new tiles will be laid and new front door will go on.  Can't wait as the current front door is bashed to bits with Alan's wheelchair.

Pottered about for a bit, few phone calls made and was just thinking about making lunch when David said, "I can't stand the smell of the paint, lets go out for lunch."  

And so I found myself walking into our local branch of Delivinos for lunch!  (Smoked haddock risotto.  Mmmmm)  The waitress thought it was hilarious that we'd had breakfast at their sister cafe in Crieff this morning.   (You know you're a regular in a place when you walk in and the staff know you and say Your Usual Table?   And the manager gave us a lift home the other week after their gin tasting night when our taxi failed to show!  lol)

Anyway, a lovely lunch was had then I came home to an empty house (workmen gone, Alan out in his new car with Ashleigh and D headed to the golf range)  Bliss.

After all that eating out we couldn't face dinner so we've had tea and toast for supper instead.  And I've spent a frustrating few hours trying to edit my photos as the laptop is playing up.  Got there in the end though :)

I laughed when I chose this shot to blip as I was determined it would be a landscape shot but this appealed more.   There's some more in extras if you fancy a nosey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.