Heading away

Again.

Probably again for the young woman leading her companion away from by the jetty to further around the lake edge. Definitely again for me. I did a long locum in liaison psychiatry at North Shore in 2014. Then I had seven weeks earlier this year, and was farewelled a second time. Because there was still a vacancy, I could have continued working there. But I had accepted the offer of a fifteen month fixed term contract as Medical Director in Mental Health.

Then, one of the two remaining senior staff members had to return to her home country for family reasons, and my new employer and I were asked if I could provide some help. So last week and this week I was released to help them on the Wednesdays, and I gave up my day off on the Fridays to do liaison.

It was a good day again today, leaving me with a feeling that I'd made a difference. And it is often the simple things. Like being able to tell the 85 year old Scottish born man that I'd been through his birth place of Tarbet when heading to Gairloch where one side of my lineage came from. 

I was told on my departure today, that they confidently expect me back. That would be nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.