Sunshine on West Auckland

Today dawned grey and a bit damp, and developed from there into somewhat of a storm. Strong swirling winds, rain at times almost horizontal, streams of water running down hilly streets to course across the main road , and affecting the steering of the cars crossing those intersections.

I went out in all that wind and rain and coursing water to Glen Eden to collect J and bring her back to where she had left her car last night (rather than drive post party). Most drivers were careful and gave each other ample room, but some .... No crashes when I was driving.

Too wet for a walk and these days too wet for a run (for me). By the time (late afternoon) that I could have gone out I had little or no motivation to do so. Instead, I used the Canon to record the sky to the northwest an hour or more before sunset.

We were still under dense rain cloud cover, with intermittent rain. At the same time, no more than 10 km directly across the upper Waitemata, there was sunshine on Hobsonville and its neighbours. I did need to make some adjustments with iPhoto to what the computer gave me as straight from the camera.

It has been an indoor day. S has worked on her writing and I have read, and done little else. I hope we can get outside more tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.