At risk of overparking

A couple of weeks ago, S and I went to a movie at Matakana. This afternoon, she took the boys to it. Once was enough for me, so I left them to it and spent some of the time at the Wynyard Quarter and the nearby "Tank Farm". The harbour end of the tongue of land known as the Tank Farm (because of all the tanks on it, many still in use), juts far enough into the harbour to be good for fishing whatever the tide.

Although it is unlikely that on a somewhat overcast Sunday afternoon that the traffic wardens would check down here, where plenty of free parking remained available, he looked as if sleeping in his hammock was the main point of being here. 

Back in the Wynyard Quarter, at the junction between the restaurants, cafes and bars, and the children's playgrounds, is the Big Hoot Owl which I suggested I would return to. It is the extra for today. The artist (Mandii Pope) enjoyed using the organic shape of the sculptured owl to make "a perfect BB8 Owl". Her design is inspired by the Star Wars movies, and her aim is to design all the Star Wars characters.

The wee girl and her father arrived just as I did, and I could not resist recording her reaching out a hand in friendship and greeting to the droid owl. At the same time staying safely in Daddy's arms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.