Half Way . . .

The walkway behind my house has tracks that go all the way up to the ridge line.  So far I have been walking up part way and then walking across the slope and down again.  The time has come to start walking up further.  I got this far this afternoon.  You can see across Richmond and the Waimea Inlet and out to Tasman Bay.  The deciduous trees are starting to look most splendid even on this grey day.  From here where I stopped I looked up to where I aim to go and it reminded me of A.A.Milnes poem:


Halfway down the stairs
is a stair
where I sit.
there isn't any
other stair
quite like
it.
i'm not at the bottom,
i'm not at the top;
so this is the stair
where
I always
stop.

Halfway up the stairs
Isn't up
And it isn't down.
It isn't in the nursery,
It isn't in town.
And all sorts of funny thoughts
Run round my head.
It isn't really
Anywhere!
It's somewhere else
Instead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.