The second half of life..

By twigs

Reflecting on.....

ANZAC Day, although I find I have barely acknowledged it publicly.  There was a time when I was much more engaged and 'involved' in the day, but things have shifted in me. I made a donation for my poppy about a week ago and I've quietly and personally said my thanks to those who sacrificed so much so that we can live the lives of freedom and wealth we live today.  But I'm not feeling the pull to attend dawn services nor dwell in the sombreness of the day.  Mum used to take us to Rememberance Day services in Melton when we were kids and it was there, I think, I learned the value of quiet thanks.  So today, for me, has been about quiet reflection, thanking mum and thanking all those thousands of others who gave so much.

Unurprisinlgy, it was a quiet start to the day......and an early one.  LB demanded feeding around 6.45 and I obliged, resisting the tempation to return to my warm bed.  Instead, I relaxed and reflected......and responded to a few emails about my car.  Yay!  Asking price has been offered and accepted - details to be finalised when I return from my trip next weekend.  Pottered, pootled and finished packing the van then headed away late morning.  First stop - the garage to fill up BUT.......I'd forgotten my purse so it was a case of 'take two' as I returned home and then back to the service station a short time later.

It no longer surprises me how liberating the van and my associated choices are.  When I left home I knew I was heading south (thanks to the earthquake, no-one goes north out of Nelson these days unless they're going to Blenheim or the ferry!).  What I didn't know was whether I'd turn right south of Murchison and head to the West Coast or continue straight and head south towards Christchurch. South won and I'm now at Marble Hill just south of Springs Junction.  It just feels sooooo good not to have any firm plans and to be able to make it all up as you go along :)  Arrived early and have enjoyed a very quiet evening watching 'Woman In Gold' - Helen Mirren is such a wonderful actress but she was outshone in this movie by the powerful - true - story.  

It's looking like I'll head to bed at an insanely early time so tomorrow may well begin very early again, despite not having LB here to prompt me into getting up.

G'night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.