The second half of life..

By twigs

Heading west

Nine and a half hours sleep!  I guess I needed it!  When I packed the van up I made the decision to swap the duvet over from summer to winter weights.  I figured as I was planning on spending a few nights in the mountains I didn't want to be cold.  Last night was at Marble Hill so high enough to get cold but thanks to the foresight, i had a very cosy night.  Mind you, it wasn't all that cold a night!

Up when I woke, cruisey coffee breakfast then on the road where I meandered my way to this evening's hangout at Lake Pearson.  What a stunning drive!  It was a little foggy with low clouds when I left Marble Hill and the north Canterbury plains were looking a bit overcast at times, but as I headed further west towards the mountains, the clouds got fewer and the sky got bluer :)  Hard to beat!

The thing I love about driving is the time I get to think, to contemplate, to reflect, to dream, to imagine and to plan.  And so it was today - in bucket loads!  It's only a day since I left home but already I feel I'm in such a different space.......sooooooo refreshing and uplifting :)

(And yes - part of my 'planning' time was for you T and A!!  We're definitely going to have to write this trip into your schedule somehow!  Keep watching to see what tomorrow brings....)

PS - just popped out of the van to star-gaze and realised there was no moon and crystal clear skies - the Milky Way just had to be done.  Seeing this phenomenon certainly helps add perspective to lots of stuff.......realising the impermenance and miniscularity (am I making words up?) of existence here on earth.......one tiny corner of who knows what?  How can [enter your own concerns here] possibly be an issue when viewed on this scale?

Bedtime now :)  G'night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.