The second half of life..

By twigs

Thanking my lucky star-fishes!

One out of the bag!  One of those days that you just don't want to end.  

I awoke at early o'clock with beautiful sunshine beginning to poke its head over the mountains.  As it gently began to illuminate the autumnal shore-side willows the entire scene started to erupt into a massive cheer to welcome the day.  

The drive from Lake Pearson to Greymouth is not very long - only about a hundred kilometres.  It turned into a pretty slow trip though from stunning blue skies on the east, over the pass in cold, cloud and grey with a hint of rain thrown in for good measure.  A long stop at the top to 'play' with the keas (one of whom nipped my bum as I squatted taking a picture of another!  I think he must have been trying to nibble a button or something.)  Continuing  west the weather improved with each kilometre until I arrived in Greymouth in glorious sunshine once again.  A fill-up, quick supermarket stop then north to find the giant starfish.  The day finished with me timing my exit from the startfish rock pools as the sun was setting.  Magnificent.

I couldn't choose between scenery, keas or starfish so there's a bit of each!

Punakaiki tonight with the ocean booming just metres away from my van.  A blissful lullaby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.