The second half of life..

By twigs

West Coast

It rained overnight - quite a lot it seemed by the amount of squelchiness underfoot when I stepped out of the van.  Nothing for it but a cruisey morning and a meander back to Nelson.

Clearly the dampness got to my brain though - I'd used my newly-made levellers to even up the van last night and in my sodden-brained state this morning I drove straight off them and headed north not giving them a second thought until I was back at home :(  This was just the second time I'd used them and they were proving to be a great addition to the van's fixtures.  Will have to organise to have some more made......and figure a way of reminding myself to take them with me when I leave places!

The stretch of Coast from Greymouth about 12 or 14kms north of Punakaiki is a stunning, desolate stretch of Coast.  The mountains meet the ocean head on and the road is etched like a fine thread, precariously hanging on to the land.  The people who live along this stretch must be strong people - their houses are often hidden in small clearings amongst dense bush, some gripping the mountain-side between road and ocean.  Their views must be spectacular - as must be their resilience.  They're a tough breed on the Coast, and this part in particular seems to have more than it's fair share of challenges.........and rewards, I suspect too.  I think I'd quite enjoy the challenge of living along this stretch for a year or so..........might add that to my retirement plan!

Back home mid-afternoon.  Unpacked van, smooches with LB, shower, tea and rugby match on TV to round off a great few days. 

PS map location is a total guess!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.