a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Shaved

Silly Saturday: Shaved

I think that this may count as a Silly Saturday entry, but you will have to bear with me whilst I explain the background to this shot.

Just over 3 years ago I grew a beard, which it has to be said, Cathy was not terribly keen about.  I eventually trimmed it back to a goatee beard which she was a little happier about. However, over the last 3 years there have been reasonably constant comments over how much she prepared the fully clean shaven Greg.  

In just under two weeks it will be our 30th wedding anniversary, and we are going away.  In preparation for that I shaved my beard off on Monday, expecting Cathy to notice immediately, particularly given the reasonably regular adverse comments.  

People at work (generally) notice almost immediately.  Day followed day, and Cathy said nothing.  We went out to a party earlier in the week and we spent the whole evening talking to each other, but still nothing was said.  Eventually I could not resist any longer and, giving in, asked her if she had noticed anything different about me.  At which point she screamed and practically fell off her chair! (I knew that my chin was scary and needed to be covered in hair to avoid worrying people),

With tears of laughter in her eyes, she initially accused me of having shaved off the beard earlier in the day.  But eventually she acknowledged that it might have come off earlier in the week ;-). I loved the line that she only ever looks me straight in the eye and so hadn't noticed... 

The beard will be back, but certainly not until after our anniversary.  (It covers up a multitude of sins).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.