a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Dunnock

A pretty busy Sunday here, what with one thing and another, has left me little time to sort our much in the way of possible Blip entries.  We've been largely housebound, although I did manage to fit in a flying visit to my sister Janet and her husband Incredibish earlier on today.  The weather remains gloomy, cold and windy so this shot of a Dunnock on the feeder is all I've got to show for my day.  

Dunnocks are generally ground feeders and can normally be seen hoovering up the seed that the other birds let fall.  However, we have just this one dunnock that has learned the art of taking food directly from the feeder.  He flies up to the anti-squirrel climbing dome, and from there hops up to the feeder.  He doesn't seem to like to fly direct to the feeder for some reason.  Even though the others have seen him do it, they persist in feeding from the ground.  Bird brains eh?! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.