A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Peloton

A fantastic 3rd stage of the Tour de Yorkshire.

We left church just after 1.00pm and headed down to Crossroads between Keighley and Haworth. I thought the position on the roundabout would be quite good so we stayed put. Wilsden Walker was sitting in her deck chair outside her daughter's house with a group of friends just down the road and we saw a couple of them. We could certainly smell their BBQ!
A radio car came through and announced the leaders were 4 minutes ahead with a British rider amongst them. A great cheer went up.
I felt I could get a good close up of the Tete de la Course but of course I was working on them coming round the roundabout! They don't need to do that and didn't, so my first attempt was better of the outrider/cameraman, who then got in my way, than the leading group of 6 - but I was more prepared for the Peloton as you can see here. A large number of them being Sky riders.

Of course it was all over in minutes but well worth going to see. I loved watching the police motor cylcysts doing the rolling road block; it was brilliant and must have had over 30 of them participating. One was letting kids sit on his bike as he directed the traffic away from the route. One of the more interesting people he stopped was a guy on his bike with his dog - extra

Back home to watch on the TV. The same 6 in the lead pack for many miles then the incredible climbs started to split everyone up. Great crowds everywhere. Hope it's back again next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.