Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Affirmation

Quite long, the road we had
walked together into
the quieter light of evening -
telling, listening, growing
closer through the dust.
My heart seemed
swollen with new words
in the voice of this 
stranger who knew my soul.

And nightfall came, the
Time for linking eyes, for
knowing face to face,
for sharing bread. And then
he gave me wine. Time stopped. I
looked away - could not
face this sudden recognition. The 
joy that feels like pain had
gripped me fierce and hard, I
shuddered at his touch, as 
suddenly I knew:
I knew with whom I drank.

C.M.M. 11/02

Today's gospel reading in the lectionary was the Emmaus road story. I am indebted for the photo - actually of today's sunrise - to my next-door neighbour who photographed what I only saw.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.