Today was experimenting...

...again.

I tried more garden leaves, like those of yesterday. I found evergreen leaves didn't work very well. The best were deciduous type leaves, like those of yesterday.

Loads of experimenting today. Discovering which of my ideas might work, and which ideas didn't.

First, early this morning was indoors trying different impressions in the hot wax. I quite liked the feather. I ironed turquoise wax on to the feather and put the turquoise side face down on to the card, and immediately had a darker blue wax on the iron and ironed over the feather, and then I pulled the feather off quickly. This was the result.

So this my pic for today for my challenge to myself of a pic a day every day in 2017.

Then the sun came out, so went into the garden which made Popeye happier. Took some larger canvases out there, along with acrylics, inks, old sheet music, kitchen roll, tissue paper, and more...

Glued tissue paper scrunched up on to canvas boards to create textures. Also tried it with kitchen roll. Then acrylic paints or inks. Also tried the old sheet music glued on. And more ideas. But none of those are remotely finished. It might be a few weeks, partly because that's look like they are going to take a lot longer than the encaustic work or the way I paint with acrylics so far.

I rather like the idea of a painting finished and done in one day. I have mixed feelings about those in the above paragraph. Dunno if it is the longer time it is going to take or what. They are going to have to wait until I have more time to work on them. And I will post them on the day I have finished then, and I will say how long they took. I don't have the space indoors to do this kind of experimenting.

But it is experimenting.

When I start something I have no preconceived idea how it is going to turn out or how I am going to progress with it. It sort of evolves....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.