Sisters

Why was I worried, why was I sitting with such dread? Nae idea.

It was a beautiful day - wall to wall sunshine, blue skies and 24 deg!!

We went to Formartines for lunch and outside in the sun. Wish I'd taken my sunglasses - took everything else.

Back to Inverurie and then to meet Anne at the Grden Centre. Good to catch up with her too, but it raked up memories.

More surfaced that evening at Doug's 60th at the Golf Club - last time I was there was 4 May for Raymond's 50th, the day after we put #17 up for sale. I didn't know of course that that afternoon had seen the first of a big farewell in London which was the reason for the late flight up.

I found it quite hard - too much music that brought back too many memories, too close, too near. And so many people who had known each other for nye on 60 years - that's small town Scotland for you. And people I've known for over 30 years, my whole adult life.

But it was Doug, that real Garioch loon's party, and I danced with the best of them. But there was no cake.

These are the Anderson sisters, my 3 friends - C, Y and V. I've known them since 1979 - but we're not a day older, really we're not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.