Yosemite, Bridalveil Falls

An entire cloud of freezing cold water at the top of the trail. Nothing to do but laugh as you get soaked. It's hot out, I'm in a tank top and shorts and flip flops--if you know me that will say volumes about how warm it is. The water feels like the best shower in the world, and it won't stop. Standing ankle deep in rushing water on the trail--water is coming from everywhere, running down the rocks, across the path, the air is thick with it. Hair wet, shirt wet, feet wet, glasses soaked, can't stop hooting and laughing. Now I'm awake! I want to do it again!

It's maybe a quarter mile to the car, hot and dry, you'd never know what's up ahead. I want to shake my wet hair over all the folks taking pictures at the side of the road. What a great hello from the high country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.