2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

hope will be seen real

I know I return to this Sorley MacLean 2011 collected works often - that's because it's an absolute poetic delight ...

... here's an excerpt from Part VI of 'An Cuilithionn' (The Cuillin) - a mountain range on which I've spent many of the most exhilarating days of my life:


Part VI of 'An Cuilithionn' (The Cuillin)

The wheel will go round
and the distress will turn to victory.
Look, I see afar
the surging of the ebbless sea;
I see the rise of the waves
and a swell with a great high gloom:
that day will be lasting
and the mountains will shout for joy.

Clio did not leave the Dun
in spite of misery and faintness from long ago,
though her joy was transient
on heights beyond joy in the mountains;
she spoke to me saying:
there is no doubt that the aspiration
and hope will be seen real,
the head of joy and desire of the poets.

---

Sorley Maclean (1911 – 1996)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.