Missed opportunities.

Crazy day on Saturday. Spent all morning editing and printing photo's for my sister in law's birthday present. The getting ready for her party in Sheffield but....taking Mr. H to a badminton tournament en-route!
I had a feeling that something had to give - but I stuck with the plan. Fit it all in if we can!

Knowing I would be taking lots of blips during the party I delivered Mr H to his tournament and returned for a well earned snooze in the car - feeling shattered after the week. As afternoon turned to evening I went to the supermarket to get some pasta and provisions and noticed a fantastic sunset and some lakes. By the time I was free to wander around the lake and the surrounding woodland the sun had set and twilight was fading fast.

As I stumbled through the gloom into an opening in the woods I came across two gentlemen sitting at a picnic bench, enjoying the evening, puffing on two of the biggest hubbly bubblies (hookahs) I've ever seen. Each was as big as the chiminea in our garden. They looked like two bizarre steam punk engines billowing industrial sized clouds of smoke. But I didn't have a flash gun with me - I hadn't repacked my bag since the Olympics!

Eventually in desperation I tried to snatch a shot of the lake - not a duck in sight, sun long gone, nothing else for it but to give it a go.

To cut a long story short we didn't make it to the party that evening, so I didn't get those blips either.

Teaches me....be prepared.....expect the unexpected.....blip first plan later.

I thought I would give this a kind of dreamy unreal look in honour of the two fine gentlemen at the picnic bench.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.