Pine Cone Roses

I was out talking to Raven yesterday as she finished her garden work. She was showing me what she had done and I was complementing her on her good work when I started stepping on the pine cone bits that had fallen from the large pine tree on the neighbor's property. I looked down and noticed several of these "roses" that I had never seen before. I didn't do anything to create them. They were just there, the result of the pine cones dropping and splitting. Most were in 1000 pieces but some were like this, looking very much like a fragile wooden rose.

Today was music club and we all were treated to the music of a young couple from Western Washington University and their friend from Brazil. The couple play French Horn and Violin. The friend plays the piano. The three of them treated us to the music of Satie, Villa Lobos and Brahms. It was a wonderful concert. If you happen to live near Bellingham, they will all be playing again tomorrow night at the Firehouse Theater in Fairhaven as part of the music club's Night Beat series, starting at 7:30. If you go, you are in for a treat!

After that the usual suspects drove on up to Mikanos Restaurant for lunch together. The three young musicians joined us and we all had lively conversation and yummy food.

Later I am heading to the second day of the video class I'm taking through the City of Bellingham. Helena is visiting Arvin today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.