briocarioca

By briocarioca

Say cheese!

Still in holiday mode and even managed to drag HH down to walk along the sand a bit. We made slow progress, as I kept stopping for photos, and then made a beeline for this lad, selling cheese toasted with oregano - delicious!  I was deep in conversation with him when I realised that HH had wandered on and wouldn't have a clue where I was, so Woodson ran off to fetch him back. Woodson, at least, is roughly what his name sounded like, but he must have been completely illiterate, as his attempt to spell it out W-D-S - and then petered out while he gave it more thought.
 
He carries a primitive tin oven full of hot coals up and down the beach and I asked if he doesn't burn himself. "All the time", he said, "but there's no help for people like me, only for people at risk of drowning. No medical help for the likes of us. He was very cheery, all the same, and full of chat
 

Gorgeous day, for late autumn, and plenty of people still on the beach at 4 p.m. and later. We should spend more time down there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.