Gulls a-billing and a-cooing

I was down at the harbour again this morning trying to take shots of the gulls flying around. The shots which tend to come out sharpest are usually the ones against the sky where there are no other near objects which can distract the autofocus. However, the haar was not lifting today so the sky was a very dull grey. In the cliffs around the harbour entrance there a literally hundreds of birds flying around so there is plenty to distract you and it is therefore difficult focus on the one bird. I took several shots of the birds nesting in the cliffs as I like to follow their progress through the nesting season. I rather like this pair who were nuzzling up against each other, literally a-billing and a-cooing. The shot I've included as my extra is of a gull flying with nesting material against the backdrop of roofs and chimneys which I thought somehow hung together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.