An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Lovely Ash...

For someone who doesn't feel comfortable shooting portraits, I have been well out of my comfort zone today.

It started this morning when I had to pluck up the courage to ask the builders if I could take their photographs to be included in the photo book I am doing that chronicles the building work from the beginning (25th May 2016.  Nearly a year!) to completion of the main contract (garden room & pool) in March.   I thought they might be willing to pose for a group shot but I wanted individual shots as well.  

David was playing golf at 10am so I waited till he was gone before asking Johnny the joiner (and foreman) and Lewis the apprentice (aka Santa's Little Helper :-)) if they would let me take their photos (I figured they would be less self conscious with D out of the way :)   To my surprise and delight they were both happy to oblige (Johnny did comment about going to the coop to get vaseline for the camera lens but I pointed out that I could apply a soft focus filter in PSE ;-)  

We agreed I would take the shots at the start of their tea break and it was left to Johnny to pass the news of the photo shoot to Thomaz (does everything) and Tony (brickie and labourer obliging in helping with whatever task needs done) as they were up on the roof at the time of my asking.

I didn't even have to go and seek them out at the start of their tea break.  Lewis came in to tell me they were ready!  lol!

I was determined not to take loads of photos, but to concentrate and get a couple of individual shots of each of them and two group shots and that's exactly what I did.  To my surprise, apart from one of the group shots when Lewis was looking to the left, the rest of them turned out fine!  And not only that, it turns out that they are actually quite photogenic!  Each of their personalities shine out of the shots and I am really pleased with them.

Alan, the sparky (and giver of the Kate Bush programme) wasn't here today so I will have to photograph him on his own next week.   Hope he's up for that.  If the others are around I might try and get another group shot with him in it too.  I also need to get one of the boss man, who might prove rather more elusive.

David, Kenny and Keith got back from the golf at 3pm having enjoyed a great round in the glorious sunshine.  David played well so he was particularly buoyant :D

Alan and Ashleigh headed out for the day to the Kelpies and had a great time.  They got back about half an hour before the end of Ashleigh's shift and I nabbed her just before she finished for a very impromptu photo shoot.  

Thankfully she was happy to let me photograph her (well if I looked like her I'd be happy to have my photo taken too `;-)) and she even agreed I could blip her despite the fact she won't see the photos till she's back next week.  Thanks Ash, you are a good sport :-)

And so it's the weekend again.  Weather is supposed to stay sunny in these here parts so looking forward to a good one.  

Happy Weekend lovelies.

PS I am hoping all this portrait practice will help me gain some confidence as I have been asked to photograph twins (boy and girl) to celebrate their 16th birthdays.  I've never met them before but they sound like great kids so that should be happening in the next week or two!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.