An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Loch Drunkie from the Duke's Pass...

Another beautiful day so thought we'd make the most of it and managed to escape the house by 11.00am and headed for Doune Arts and Antiques Centre where we had a very enjoyable lunch.   Of course we couldn't leave without popping into the Centre itself and came away with a new coffee cafetiere, a gift for a friend and outside lights for the Gin Palace.

Back on the road to Callander then turned off at Kilmahog to head over the Duke's Pass, which turned out to be very fitting as we listened to the news about the Duke of Edinburgh's retirement.  I know he has his critics but I think he's brilliant.  So there.  :-))

It's been years since we've driven over this road and I had forgotten just how beautiful the Trossachs is.   

We were tempted to stop for coffee in Aberfoyle but decided to keep on going and have coffee when we got back home.  A wise decision as it tuned out as we were just in when the lift engineer appeared to service my lift.  I didn't know he was coming but he said he'd tried to contact me this morning however hadn't left a message.  

The builders have finished putting the wood panelling in the downstairs WC so hoping they will re-fit the loo and sink soon.  Having to use the pool changing room at the mo.   I am really pleased with how it looks but now we need to chose colours for the panelling and the walls.  I'll think about that tomorrow.

Oh and while we were away the carpet fitter came and fitted the new carpet in the front bedroom.  The black watch tartan carpet is now gone.  I really love the creamy neutral that's replaced it as it makes the room look much bigger, but I will admit to a slight pang of sadness at the removal of the tartan.

Bedtime now and not had a minute to look at journals again!  It's to be lovely again tomorrow and D is playing golf in the morning so hoping I will get some peace to have a catch up.

PS More pics in extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.