Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A super day

Sefferdog (Wade) met me bright and early at the Alligator Farm and we proceeded straight into to rookery where we spent the better part of 6 hours. So many laughs, so many fabulous sights, SO many photos to sort through!

I kind of knew that I wanted to blip either a tricolor heron or a little blue egret today. The decision got easier when Wade and I discovered a nest with two freshly hatched chicks (one egg was still unhatched but photos show that it was starting to open). As is often the case with bird nests, it was somewhat obscured by branches and twigs and I had to balance on my tippie-toes and hold the camera slightly above eye-level to shoot. Even so, I didn't know until I downloaded the images if I'd managed to get one of the chicks. I was smiling when I saw this - bit of a crop and there's my blip.

And in Extra: a pair of wood storks demonstrating courtship behavior passing a stick between themselves, a little blue heron, a very sexy pair of gators, and a spoonbill pair with babies.

I am planning to hit the rookery for an hour in the morning before I head north to Jacksonville and then home. Looking forward to seeing hubs, MIL and the cats. And next week this time, I will be in Oregon.

Thanks for joining me on my Florida adventure. And thanks for sending my spoonbill to the front page -guess I'm not the only one who loves a big pink bird!

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.