Wheeeeeeeee!!!!

It's been really beautiful here today, warm and sunny, so for most of the day, I've been out pottering and tidying in the garden, interspersed with quite a bit of sitting around, watching this cheeky little Sparrow.

At first I thought he was one of this year's young brood as he spent most of his time sitting on the fence, noisily chirping away, fluffing up his feathers and fluttering his wings, exactly what baby birds do when begging for food from their parents. But then I noticed that he was regularly appearing on the fence with food in his beak, before flying off to the eaves of the roof where there was even more chirping going on. So on reflection, I think he must be an adult Sparrow, taking food to his young, even though I've never heard of adults doing the whole wing fluttering business. I may be wrong though...

Just as I was taking a photo of all that fluttering action, he decided to launch himself into the air! I couldn't resist using this pic, can you hear him shouting, "Wheeeeeeeee!!!!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.