Great Aunt Hazel

Today I met my lovely Great Aunt Hazel! She is 96!!! Gulliver and I met my Dad and his lovely wife Aselle at Clapham Junction and drove out to Sevenoaks in Kent. Hazel's son Neil and his wife Ann were also there, Dad made a delicious lamb curry with rice, potatoes and popadoms, we all sat in the dining room at a long table with a table cloth. Lovely puddings and wine and conversation.
She is my Father's Aunt and the sister of his Father Terry Wood. I don't remember meeting her before and she doesn't remember meeting me either. I do remember meeting her mother when I was very small and she told me to choose a trinket from her glass cabinet, after what seemed like an age I chose a little poodle brooch which I still have somewhere.
Although Hazel does have help now she is amazing, zipping around making drinks and organising everything, it was hard to believe should be 97 this year.
The house she lives in she built with her family in 1948 and I mean built with her own hands, her mother and father and her brother Lionel (my father's uncle) built three houses on the land, the other two have been sold now but we went in the garden to look at them, my Dad has such fond memories running around there as a child on holidays and visits, it must been wonderful!
Hazel found a lovely picture of my dad with his two brothers and his sister looking very smart, I asked my dad to hold up the picture, he is the little boy on the left.
Gulliver brought his acoustic guitar down and played for everybody.
After tea and cake it was time to go, she said she hoped I would visit again and called me darling, so sweet. I'm so glad Gulliver has met his Great Great Aunt! I would like to take Zebedee next time I go.

Lots of family history in the car on the way home, it was a lovely day.

Max made a delicious paella for dinner, Gulliver did some maths revision and we all watched Justified.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.