briocarioca

By briocarioca

Happy Friday!

Well, I guess it's a bit late for that, but Friday went on too late and somehow it's now Sunday, I'm days behind and again it's too late to write anything or even catch up. Maybe tomorrow.

Not tomorrow, but Monday - here's what I meant to write on FRIDAY:

I don't know how people manage to post a photo a day, and do it on the right day. Sometimes there's nothing that appeals and I'd need to know a lot more about the camera to make a special study of something for the sake of posting a blip. On other days, lots of things catch one's attention, and while the shots may not be great, each has a particular memory or feeling attached, so it's hard to choose. And then, the end of the day comes far too quickly.
Anyway, Friday was one of the fun days with plenty to catch my attention, starting with these two girls, crossing the road alongside me and talking English. I couldn't resist asking for a photo and it turned out they were Brazilian, talking English for the sake of their friend, recently arrived from the Lebanon. We wound up discussing whether I should die my hair purple or pink when I grow up. The vote was 2 to 1 for pink.
Later I just had to get said hair chopped a bit, and a very interesting old lady (yes, even older than me) came in and we got chatting. She's leaving Copacabana after 62 years, taking with her memories of the glory days when Rio was the capital of Brazil and the social, political and artistic life revolved around the Copacabana Palace. She was a lawyer, and had worked for and greatly admired the governor of the time. She even carried a photograph of him and his team in her bag.
The highlight was in the evening, when we met up with four others from our choir to hear one of our monitors give a solo show - well, accompanied, and superbly, by an eminent guitarist. She performed quite beautifully, with subtle and shaded interpretation of the songs of a famous singer of the 50s, looked beautiful on stage too, and the show was just the right length to have everyone clamouring for more. We had intended to drop in to a bar later to hear another friend performing with his new trio, but the layout of the bar isn't very favourable or cosy, so we decided against it and just stopped near home for a snack and a couple of beers at a place, Tipicamente, that digitaldaze and Barrioboy know well. Have you tried the aipim com linguiça e queijo, dd and Bb? Delish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.