Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

Chaperone

Will you look after my child?

I'm a chaperone, it's a voluntary position, entirely my choice and one that I enjoy.
I wouldn't blame you for thinking that I am a chaperone because I like to be in control, and honestly, I'd probably agree with you. I chose to become a chaperone at my daughters dance school because I wanted to help.
I remember watching one of my daughters first dance show and seeing that she had "topped up" her own stage makeup backstage and had thick red lips. I also remember the feeling of being so proud of her performances that I wanted to hold her and tell her how proud I am, but being in the audience it was impossible to do it straight away. From that moment, I knew I'd be happier backstage helping out.
For the last three years, I have been backstage as a Chaperone and have thoroughly enjoyed my time as a Chaperone, I love helping the dance school out, I love helping the children too but this year, I'm left to feel deflated.
As your child's Chaperone, I will look after your child like my own. I will help them to get in and out of their costumes, and yes, sometimes it takes two attempts because it's been put on backwards or the decoration has got stuck on the wrong side. I will make sure that your child is happy, I will give them a hug if they are feeling sad, nervous and when they come off stage overwhelmed by what they have just done. I will make sure they have their next dance costume on the chair the right way round and ready for the next dance. I will help your child and four other children to have a quick change between two acts from one costume into a five piece costume and be stage-side ready for their next dance. I will top up their makeup if needed or will keep a watchful eye when they try so hard to do it themselves. I will give them encouragement when they're feeling nervous and do silly things to make them smile. I will call or message you if I have concerns or your child is wanting you. I will sew, alter, sellotape, glue or spray their costumes if they break/tear during rehearsals. I will make sure they have all of their costumes and accessories and I will keep them in order and as clean as possible. I will make sure your child is not hungry or thirsty, even if that means giving them my lunch. I will take activities for your child to play with, so they are not bored between dances. I will make sure that all of their items are back in the box and are ready for a quick departure, so that you can see your child as quickly as possible at the end of the show. I will ensure I am caring out my practical responsibilities as a Chaperone. I choose to not watch my daughters perform their hearts out, so that you can watch the show (and yes, sometimes that does break my heart - I can hear their singing and the applause over the radio's). Most of all, I will care for your child like my own. All of this, for your child and the other 13 children in my care.
Forgive me if I don't get a photo of your child backstage, or if I can't commit to being responsible for another child out of my area. Forgive me for being focused on making sure the children in my care are happy, safe and ready.
I do this for my children and yes, your children too. Your appreciation isn't expected at all; I am very lucky to receive thanks from the Dance school and some of the children in my care.
As I see all of the beautiful photographs of your children, I am absolutely gutted that I didn't get the chance to take any photographs of my own children yesterday.
I was so busy on wanting you to have your child in your arms at the end of the show, that I completely forgot to capture my child's moment of receiving a trophy.
So here it is... DM was awarded the Brian Geary Cup at her dance show. To say I'm proud of her is an understatement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.