Taters 'N' Greens

I've read that brides are including exotic plants like cacti and succulents in their bouquets. (Lethal weapons when tossed into the crowd of hopeful single lady guests.) Someone in the paper today said that a relative of hers had bunches of grapes instead of flowers in her bouquet.

MrQ comes from a family of greengrocers and today we went to the funeral of his cousin. I wasn't sure what to expect, having read this morning that funerals are these days a celebration of life and themed accordingly. According to the Co-op, Star Wars and Only Fools And Horses have been chosen.

It wasn't much of a surprise then to see polished red apples amongst the flowers on the coffin and the tribute above. I think it has been done nicely and I approve. 

I'm quite into birdsong and during the service there was a very melodious tweeting. So melodious and unfamiliar that I phoned the crem to ask if it was piped. I'm very glad to report that it was a real bird - but which? :)

Today's poem is Badly-Chosen Lover by Rosemary Tonks. http://www.poetrybyheart.org.uk/poems/badly-chosen-lover/

She chose badly, he milked her but she still can't help having certain soft feelings for him.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.