RetiredDBA

By RetiredDBA

Hercules over Windermere

After a day toiling in the garden in which I must have dug out nearly one thousand buttercups from an overgrown border I took a short drive to enjoy the late evening sunshine from the view point near Gummers How overlooking Lake Windermere. I was perhaps hoping for an interesting sunset but there were no clouds to be seen so the the omens were not good. I was just preparing to head back when what I am sure is a Hercules transport plane flew low up the length of Windermere. I had seen it earlier in the day on my way back from dropping Mr.B at Oxenholme when it was so low I though it was going to land in the bog at Foulshaw moss. According to Google the tail fin indicates the fact that the Hercules has been in service for 50 years (1967 - 2017). Also saw either a Spitfire or Hurricane on my way to Oxenholme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.