a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The Medici's are coming

Florence Day 3

Its been a much better day than forecast, as you can see from the blue skies in today's blip.  We caught this procession along the banks of the Arno early this evening after stopping for some refreshment in the sunshine.  We never did get to the bottom of quite what this little pageant was for.  It seemed to be leading a host of suited and booted folk into a banquet, but who knows.

We spent some time looking around the treasures of the Uffizi today - other galleries feature tomorrow.  

Unfortunately the accommodation was plagued by mosquitos on our first night.  We have sorted the problem out since, but I've been bitten quite a lot on the face (the bit that was sticking out of the sheets as we slept).  Cathy has been bitten, but rather less.  I don't know what it is but the wretched things really like me, I can't think what they find to live on when I'm not around.  I've put up a selfie of my bitten face for your amusements as one of the extras today ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.