Sunset, West Runton, Norfolk

Where else would we choose to be, with this free, beautiful spectacle happening on our doorstep?

I had it planned. I couldn't get a decent zoomed in picture of an owl, so I went for a larger, slower moving target! The sun! Last night I saw the sun setting as I drove back from the petrol station at 8.30 along the coast road. It had been a warm clear day, and the sun was huge, red and wanting to be photographed. Alas I was without my camera and in need of my bed.

Thankfully, the head is millions better today, thank you for your concern friends. An early night and water definitely helped. So it meant a better day at work. But when 4 o'clock came round, I decided I would leave the office a bit earlier in order to avoid a repeat. We had dinner at about 6 and I then made a birthday card. We had already planned our walk on the beach in order to get that planned sunset photo. At 7.30 we all got in the car, including Bracken and drove to the car park at the top of the cliff at West Runton. You are supposed to pay, but the gates are closed at 9 and no-one was around. I don't know who patrols at night, but I took a chance and parked.

Walking down to the beach there were a couple of other people enjoying the complete peace of it all. The sun was still quite high. On the concrete slope, just by the sea, there was a man with the same idea as me. He had a tripod....and a bigger camera than mine!

We walked along the beach where we found a lobster net. I wanted one last time we were here, but couldn't carry it, so the kids kindly picked it up and we took it with us. Taking photos the whole time, I took over 50 in total....Mollie took over 100! I knew the sun would take it's final dip at around 8.30 so we walked back up the beach and sat on the concrete, waiting and taking more pictures.

Just behind us, a giant moon had snuck up and was looking down on us. More photos. Once the action was complete, we drove the 10 minutes home. How lucky are we? I will be back to refine my photographing skills, with a tripod and a cleaner lens.

A really lovely evening. I am pretty chuffed with the photo...it took a while to decide which one to blip. What do people think of it?

Sorry James, but you didn't even make it to the 'Wednesday blip photo choosing' semi finals......may be next time ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.