Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lily...

I thought I'd pulled out all the lilies last summer but evidently a few were still underground and as soon as they broke the surface, so did the Scarlet Lily Beetles.  These photogenic little beetles are the bane of many gardeners.  I don't really mind them, mainly because I'm not that attached to the lilies that they do so love to eat.  Easier for me to dig up the lilies than use toxic chemicals to kill the beetles.  I figure when the lilies are gone, the beetles will move on.  And in the meantime, they do make a for a cool blip, don't they?  

I did some gardening today which quickly evolved into a macro safari around the yard.  It's a bit early for there to be a lot of interesting insects, but I did turn up some bees, flies and even several paper wasps.  I spent some time gazing around my new big garden and discovered quite a few sprouts coming up.  Very exciting!  Of course, I can't exactly remember which seeds I planted where so it's all going to be a bit of a surprise.  

Hubs took MIL to the dentist today which was a pretty long outing, so I skipped visiting.  I'll drop in tomorrow and see her.  Tomorrow is also laundry and packing - I'm off to see my parents in Oregon on Friday and can't wait.

The female Scarlet Tanager is still hanging around and was joined by very briefly by a Common Yellowthroat who flitted into the cherry tree, well out of camera view.  Those spastic little warblers are my nemesis birds - it's rare that I can ever get an even remotely decent shot of one.  Not sure why it was even in our yard since they mostly hang out near ponds and streams.  Maybe just to taunt me.

Well, happy Wednesday, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.