Beech Hedge

Another early start for me today, but it was a really lovely morning so it didn’t seem too bad.  I have had a busy day, no meetings, just sitting at my desk working through my to do list and catching up with my still new-ish colleagues and learning from their experiences.

I had an errand to run at lunchtime, and thought John Lewis was the place to go.  What a mistake!  Don’t get me wrong, I love John Lewis.  However, with the demolition of the St James centre, there is some major work going on in John Lewis, and things are all moved round, sections are closed off and some departments have disappeared.  I got lost, disorientated, and felt trapped  – in a shop I have been in hundreds of times.  As I looked for a way down (I knew I had to head down), I passed a couple of men who were probably also lost and I overhead them say there’s been a lot of changes in here.  I eventually found the escalator down, and stood behind two (possibly lost) women, who were commenting on how difficult it was to find your way around as all the reference points seemed to have gone.  I was relieved to get out, and probably won’t go back for a while.  I mentioned this escapade to a colleague, who told me something very similar had happened to her a couple of weeks ago.

The rest of my day was quite uneventful -  an overcrowded train, a rush to get BB out to football training, and then I went for a walk with my friend S.  It was a lovely evening, and the cold wind we have had for the past few weeks seems to have disappeared.

The leaves on our beech hedges are coming out at last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.