Light the Hearth Festival

Entertainment by and for unhoused people. Spoken word performances, poetry readings, dances, songs, guitarists, drummers--and a glorious percussion jam with "found" and homemade percussion instruments. I made many photographs which now all belong to Street Roots, the paper unhoused people sell to make a little change. 

The main photo is Karen with her friend's Yorkie, Walter. Karen is still unhoused, and her life is difficult, but she and her friend cook together at her friend's house and distribute food to unhoused people several days a week. She says she loves the feeling of being able to help people, and their gratitude gives her all the love she needs. There were many I could have blipped, including Benjamin, an old friend I blipped four years ago (see Extra, he's living indoors now and seems much more calm, well-fed, and peaceful). There was also a young dancer who was positively arresting: she was completely focused on what was happening inside her in relation to the music. Her strong, lithe, imaginative body made moves I've never seen a human body execute before today. She would pause and then make a series of moves so quick and surprising that I couldn't catch a focus on her when she was in speed mode.

The energy was of kindness, joy, pride in each other, and burgeoning self-esteem, something unhoused people desperately need. I'm so glad I was able to go. Sue rode her bike over and we wandered around taking photos until we felt it was wise to leave--she, so she could get home before dark, and I, so I could lie down and drink more fluids. I'm so glad I could be there. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.